Missing Book Club

Towards the end of 2011, I joined a book club with some girls from my hometown.  It was a great way to force myself to read more books and meet some new people.  I really enjoyed my time in Book Club even if we only talked about the book for 20 minutes each time.  Today marks the first Book Club since the beginning of our Book Club that I will miss.  In order to fill my void this post is dedicated to February’s book and meeting.

February’s book club book was “The Glass Castle” by Jeannette Wells.  I enjoyed the book overall, but just like many other books I’ve been reading lately I felt like it kind of fell off towards the end of the book.

Glass Castle

source

We enjoyed discussion about the book along with a cocktail and some yummy treats.

Photo Feb 15, 8 26 07 PM

I made this dessert for Book Club because I felt like I had to redeem myself for making some healthy cookies last summer.  It was rich and delicious.

Photo Feb 15, 8 26 36 PM

The book was actually one where we all had read and had different parts of the book that we wanted to discuss.  I was most intrigued with how manipulative the parents were to the children.  No matter how hard they tried to break away, the parents would always knee themselves back in.

I would recommend this book to teachers and social workers especially because it gives you a greater picture of what some children have to deal with growing up.  It allowed me to understand the circumstances that some children live through to make you understand why they act the way they do.

the group

The book club minus a few!

What books have you read lately that are easy to discuss?

This entry was posted in Book Club and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

