Track Party February

This post is a little outdated, since it happened about 3 weeks ago.  It was the night before the first big snow storm, temperatures were in the 20s with the windchill making it feel like the teens.  I met Joslyn at the high school football stadium and we did 8 x 400s.  They were supposed to be at 5K pace so like a 9:00 min/mi for me.  I think we did the first one in about a 6-7 min/mi pace and I felt like I was going to throw up.  I decided then that I no longer cared about speed.  I guess it didn’t help that it was extremely cold and it hurt to breath.

Her times are as follows for the last 5 repeats with me being a few steps behind her.    I guesstimated that I did about an 8:00 min/mi average for my repeats.    

3-12-13Speed work is not fun, I think I will just stick to my slow running.  My body will appreciate it also.  I was pretty sore the next day and I didn’t know if it was from the track workout or all the snow I shoveled with terrible form.  Needless to say, I haven’t done another track workout even though I was supposed to last week.  It’s also really hard to track your pace without a Garmin.  I’ve been really really wanting a Garmin lately because of all the stoplights I have to stop at and maybe I will be inspired to do speed work again.

What are your thoughts on speed work?

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

