My First Experiences with Kale

As part of my New Year’s Non Resolutions, I vowed to try a new food each month.  This month my choice was kale.  I have seen kale all over the blogosphere as well as all over Pinterest, but I had never seen it in the store.  Last week when I was purchasing items to make for Christmas I saw a rather large bag of kale and decided to give it a whirl.  This week I have tried it three ways.

1.  I substituted kale for spinach in my salad I take to work several times a week.  I thought it tasted just as good as spinach and for some reason in the back of my head I figured it was more nutritious.  My coworker saw me eating it and mentioned he always found kale to be rather chewy, so for the rest of the week I had that in the back of my mind as I ate it.

2.  I decided to see how kale would taste when it was heated and once again substituted it for spinach in one of my favorite go to pasta dishes.  Usually it’s garlic, tomatoes  spinach, and chicken tossed with whole wheat penne then sprinkled with red pepper flakes and parmesan cheese.  Well this time I also added mushrooms, a leftover green pepper, green onions, and pesto sauce.  It turned out well because of all of the other flavors.  I think next time I would cook the kale a little longer.  I also did not find it to be chewy.  The picture is from the leftovers I ate for lunch the next day.

Image3.  My final experience with kale was to throw it in while scrambling some eggs.  I also threw in the leftover mushrooms I had and I officially had green eggs!  I was pleasantly surprised with the flavor since the smell of kale was starting to get to me.  It has a rather pungent smell much like raw broccoli which I am not a huge fan of.  

Overall I don’t think I am ready to make the permanent switch from spinach to kale, but I will definitely cook with it again in the future.  I really need to try some other ways of using it as well like kale chips.  The pungent smell started to get to me, but I never got tired of the taste.  

Trying a new food for the month of January is already successful on day four.  It is bound to be a good year! 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

